Thursday, July 10, 2014

Changes to People Page in Family Tree

Changes to the header when on the People page under Memories.  First, instead of the four filters, there will be only two filters on the main one – Added by: Me and Added by: Tree.  Added by: Me included the photos, documents, and stories you have directly uploaded or entered to  Added by: Me will also include those people for whom you have selected a different default portrait from memories added by others.

Added by: Tree will be the memories uploaded by others within your first four generations, their spouses, their children, and the children’s spouses.

If you have selected Added by: Me, then there will be a second filter on the right where you can then choose the option to see only those not linked to Family Tree yet.

The circle in the left corner next is for your personal portrait.  If you upload a photo of yourself, tag it and attach to the tree -- your portrait will show up there.

Changes to detach options on person page
If you are on a specific photo, anyone will now be able to detach the photo if it is linked to the wrong record in Family Tree.


This option does not always appear. To see the detach option, you will need to do the following:

1.    Get to a specific memory (photo, documents, stories).
2.    For the list of people in this photo list on the right, click on the tag with the name of the person you want to detach.
3.    When the tag opens, then you will see the detach from tree option.
4.    When you click detach, you will be given the page to confirm the detach and provide a reason you are detaching.

Detach from the People page – all photos at once
Just like we have had a contributor can detach all the memories for a specific person using the person page under Memories, it will still exist but it will look a little different.

If you are not the contributor, you cannot detach all memories at once. You would need to go to each memories and detach one-by-one as described earlier.

Memories disappear during Family Tree merge
Memories which had been lost due to a merge  will now be attached to the surviving PID and will reappear in the tree.

When you upload a picture and tag it, it will go directly to Google if the people you tagged are tied to the tree and publicly visible.  In other words, we give them a sitemap to crawl and Google will find these photos.  In addition, our photos are publicly available, and Google can crawl our site and find photos that are tagged to living or not tagged at all.  The URLs to all photos are publicly available and can be posted to social media (Facebook, Pinterest, etc) and they may be picked up by Google’s indexers there.

So Google may discover any photo you upload, and any photo that has been tied to only publicly visible tree people will be actively made available for Google to Index.  There may be a delay from the time you post your photo, until Google discovers and indexes it.”


No comments:

Post a Comment